Answers

Oh that we had all the answers.  Sometimes that seems desirable and other times, not at all.  From a person that used to always read the end of the book first and peeked at Christmas presents before Christmas, you get the idea that I’m  a person that likes to have answers.
I have outgrown reading the end of the book first and peeking at presents.  Both spoil the surprise.  However, when it comes to prayer, I still like to have answers.  And I recognize that I’m not always going to get those answers.  At least not always the way I want them and in the timing I want.  And I do thank God for that.  In His infinite wisdom, His timing and answers are always so much better for me than what I can think of.

There are things I’ve been praying for, for years.  And I continue to pray and trust that someday I will see an answer.  Loved ones who have renounced their faith and turned their backs on God.  I do believe they will eventually come back to Him.  That is a prayer I have confidence in because it’s in His will.  He wants no man to perish.  2 Peter3:9. “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”
http://biblehub.com/2_peter/3-9.htm

Other prayers, I’m not so confident I’m asking for the right thing.  I do know that my Heavenly Father loves me and cares for me though, so I feel confident going to Him in prayer, and that just like my earthly father used to do, He will make everything all right for me and “fix things.”  That might mean I need to change and do something I haven’t wanted to do but after I do it, things are better.
Earlier this week, I had a really bad day emotionally.  I was feeling forgotten and neglected by my friends and I was really lonely.  Hurting.  It seems I try really hard to pursue friendships and go out of my way to reach out to others but it’s not reciprocated and I sat here not hearing from anyone that day.  I was hurting and I was nursing my hurt.  After sharing it with my husband that night, I went to bed early.  I crawled into bed and lay there and poured out my heart to my Father and told Him how much I was hurting.  I asked Him to give me comfort as I know only He can give.  And I fell asleep knowing He had everything under control.

The next morning I woke, got my coffee, opened my Bible and did my reading plan for the day.  Once again, I prayed and asked for His comfort for my still sore and hurting heart.  Before an hour had passed, my phone rang and a former co-worker called to tell me she had an unexpected opening in her day and wondered if I’d have time for lunch with her.  We had talked earlier in the week about how it was going to be a while before she would have time to do lunch as she had so many commitments keeping her busy.  I no sooner had gotten off the phone with her and sat back down in my chair when my phone buzzed with a text from another friend checking to see how I was.
I could not help but smile and say, “Thank you Dear Father!!”  For caring enough even about my petty little hurts to take care of me.  Yes, I think both of these instances were an answer to my prayer.   Not always do I get my prayers answered so quickly, but even when they aren’t, I know He cares for me.

Leave a Reply

