7 Reasons Why I Want to be an Encourager

  1.  God instructs us to encourage one another in His word, “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up.”  I Thessalonians 5:5
  2. It makes me feel good to encourage someone else.
  3. It makes me feel good when someone else offers me words of encouragement so I want to offer that to other people.
  4. It’s easy to do.
  5. It usually costs nothing.
  6. It empowers people to keep going and maybe accomplish something.  You don’t know how far-reaching that could be.
  7. I want to be known for something positive.

Have you ever known someone who was an encourager?  Chances are if you have, you have been drawn to them, like a moth to a light.  They make you feel good every time you encounter them.  You walk away with a spring in your step and a smile on your face, a warm place bubbling in your heart.

Merriam Webster says Encouragement is

: the act of making something more appealing or more likely to happen

: something that makes someone more determined, hopeful, or confident

: something that makes someone more likely to do something

The definition I think of most when it comes to encouragement is something that makes someone more determined, hopeful, or confident.  The people I know of who are encouragers make me feel better about myself and my life.  They help me gain perspective over failures and an optimistic outlook at my future.  What a gift that is.  We have all read about how much attitude can affect reality.  That if you have a bad or pessimistic attitude, chances are you will have that same kind of outcome for your actions and life.  If instead, you are a positive person and expect the best, many times that is what you will receive.  For someone to help you achieve that optimistic attitude by giving encouragement, that is powerful!

God tells us to do this.  God’s instructions are for our good.  By encouraging someone else, you are also helping yourself.  Giving of yourself in this way helps the body of Christ and most times it makes you feel better about yourself.
When someone has complimented me or encouraged me in another way, it usually gives me such a lift, I can feel good about it all day or maybe even all week.  If it does that for me, it surely helps others the same way.  I want to give them that gift.  I want to be that positive person that cheers them on when they feel like quitting, that gives them the boost they needed to keep going.

It is easy to do.  Pay attention to them and notice what they do well.  Everyone does at least one thing well.  Comment on it, expound on it.  If you can’t find something they do well, then remark on a positive character trait.  Pay them a small compliment.  This costs you nothing.  You could also buy them a flower and put it in a bud vase from a thrift store, or an old mug.  It doesn’t have to be expensive.  You could give them a baked good, a card, anything small and inexpensive but still says I care.  Just knowing someone took the time to do that for you and that they care about you is a huge encouragement.
Take the time to comment on someone’s blog or post today.  That is a great encouragement.

What if you were the difference that turned someone’s life around because you took a few moments to encourage them and show you care.  What if that person then passed it on, and on, and on?  What if somewhere along that chain of kindness paid forward, one of those persons made a life changing contribution to the world, or became a world leader someday?  To think it could start with you, is mind-boggling.
What are we waiting for?  Look around you and see who you could encourage today?  It could be a loved one, or a stranger.  It doesn’t matter, the result is the same.  You will have made a difference.

One last note on Encouragers.  Barnabas, who was one of the first missionaries, was known as an encourager.  He took a chance on Saul when others were afraid of him.  What better example of Christ’s love than this?

For your own encouragement, I am posting a link to a blog I found encouraging today:  http://onethingalone.com/when-you-have-nothing-to-give-god/?utm_source=OneThingAlone+List&utm_campaign=6320286fee-RSS_EMAIL_CAMPAIGN&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_b88570f27d-6320286fee-135954269

Leave a Reply

