Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday is a concept that is fairly new to me.  I’ve only recently read about it and once again today have encountered it.  I really like it.  The premise is that every Friday, you set a timer for 5 minutes and write.  Anything and everything until the timer goes off. No editing, worrying about spelling, punctuation, etc.. I’ll be interested to see how long it actually seems.  Five minutes can seem a lifetime when you’re waiting on something and at other times can go by so quickly, it seemed like thirty seconds.  It all depends on your perspective.  When I’m playing a game on Facebook, I can spend an hour without even realizing I’ve been on there that long.  Yet sitting at a red light for 2 minutes makes me so frustrated that it seems like it’s more like 10 minutes.  Especially when I was running late for work.  I frequently tell my husband I’ll be ready in five minutes which is more like 15 minutes.  He knows now after 30+ years that it’s going to be longer than five minutes and he finds something to do while he waits.  Now when he says he will be ready in five minutes, he’s ready in five minutes.  When he tells me a time for how long something is going to take, he’s frequently, almost always, right on the mark.  Time’s up.

To learn more about Five Minute Friday, follow the link below.

http://katemotaung.com/five-minute-friday/

Leave a Reply

