My Own Personal Nineveh

Have you ever felt like you were being led to do something you really didn’t want to do?

That is where I’m at this morning.

I see family and friends going on mission trips all over the country and world and while it’s exciting and glamorous, God has given me a belief that I need to start mission work in my world, right where I’m at.  Not glamorous, not Instagram worthy, but convicting.  Where better to start than with the people around me?  If I can’t minister to them, why should I pay thousands of dollars or ask someone else to pay for me, to go bring the love of God to someone far away.   I’m not in any way suggesting international mission work is wrong.  I’m saying God has given me my own vision of what I need to be doing.

My first reaction, was no….  Do I really have to, God?  Is this really what you want me to do?  It’s been about 3 weeks since I first felt this call, this nudge to reach out to a group of people in my world.  I have continued to mull it over and still feel this is from Him.  That I need to do this.  I don’t know what will come of it, but I need to trust Him and take the first step.  I need to be obedient to Him.
I’ve seen what happened to Jonah and others who tried to run from His call, His direction in their life.  I’ve tried telling God this would be a mistake, much like Jonah, I’ve got a pre-conceived notion of what kind of reception I will get from this group.  But no, I am being told to do this.  So this week, I’m going to work on the first step of this mission and see where it leads me.  The real story in Jonah is not about the big fish who swallowed him and how God kept him alive until the fish threw him up on the shore.  I feel the real story or message we are to take away from this is obedience to God.  It didn’t matter where Jonah was going to run, God was going to find him.  It doesn’t matter how busy I get with anything else, trying to distract myself from this call, God is going to be there waiting for me.  I need to heed His call.

Obedience is key.  Understanding is not.  To obey is better than sacrifice.
I Samuel 15:22 “But Samuel replied: “Does the LORD delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the LORD? To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams.”

Leave a Reply

