The Battle Is Not Over

The more I depend on God and stay close to Him throughout the day by reading His word and talking to Him through prayer, the better chance I have at living the way He wants me to. When I try to do things in my own power, that’s when I fall. Through my weakness and dependence on Him, I succeed. Sometimes it’s a minute by minute battle. Satan tempts me to fall back into my sin ways, and I run to God in prayer. We win through His power, but the battle is not over. Satan is a most persistent adversary. If he cannot attack you successfully from the front, he’ll move to the side or behind and try again.

6a00e55397a5c2883401b8d117761f970c

 

When I am too busy, too distracted, too tired, Satan’s arrows penetrate my defense. I fall and lay in a pool of my own sin. Dirty and disgusting, I lay there, warning those around me not to come near for they might become dirty themselves if they get too close. Struggling to rise again, there is only One who can save me. One whose white robe repels the dirt and stench of my sin. One whose power can clean me as He lifts me up and sets me on my feet once again. One whose presence I want to rest in. As we begin to walk again, I want to stay close to Him and His redeeming power. It isn’t long though and once again my attention is distracted by something bright and shiny, something that promises fun and excitement! Something that looks like pleasure. I grab for the shiny thing and hold on as it subtly shifts direction until I can no longer see my Savior. My focus is on the shiny thing. I hold on tight thinking about the pleasure I will receive from this as we move farther and farther from safety. Slowly, the object starts to change. As we move farther from the Light, it is losing its shine, there are bits of tarnish showing through, I’m feeling the beginning stirrings of doubt that this is not what I need. It continues to change and starts to crumble until I’m left with nothing but a pile of junk in my hands and failure in my heart. I fall to my knees and cry out once again, “Father!” The empty silence mocks me, reminds me that I am nothing on my own. Why did I leave His side? Why did I leave the safety of His presence? “Oh Father, I need you. I need your help. I can’t do this on my own. Father, I am sorry. I was wrong. Please come help me once again!” I look up from my regret and self loathing to see Him standing there with His hand stretched out to me. I only have to grab it with my own and I’m once again safe, resolving once again to stay close to Him. To hold onto His robes and walk close.

bbf3ebabd6d80193a8a146f3e7760cc3

 

Ephesians 6: 10-17
10Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might. 11Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. 12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenlyplaces. 13Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. 14Stand firm therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, 15and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16in addition to all, taking up the shield of faith with which you will be able to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

10 thoughts on “The Battle Is Not Over

  1. Love this! Such a great reminder to hold tight to God because he always knows what’s best…and even when we try to do things our way, fail miserably, and get lost along the way, He’s always waiting to give us his grace and mercy, forgiveness, comfort, and the chance to start over again. His arms are always open to us. All we have to do is go to him, ask forgiveness, pray for guidance, and live by His word. Thank you for writing something so meaningful.❤️

    Like

  2. This was amazing!! I have a post called falling into grace where I express similar disdain toward falling into sin again and again. but I really loved this “Why did I leave His side? Why did I leave the safety of His presence?” This was like a tear Jerking illustration of how it truly feels to mess up when you know the right thing to do and you know that its a mistake. I just overall feel like this post depicted falling and finding your way back to God so perfectly. thanks for this!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Julian. I started reading your post on slavery but there were too many people talking around me and I couldn’t concentrate, so I’ll have to try again tomorrow.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

