Be the Difference

As I scroll through facebook, I see a lot of negative posts. The world is becoming a very negative place. I just saw someone post in one of the groups I belong to, that she was thinking about leaving the group because of the negative comments. This is what I told her:
“I’m not here a lot, as I’ve found too much social media is a detriment to my mental health. So I don’t read a lot of the comments. I would ask you to remain in the group to be a positive influence. You are right, there are a lot of negative people in the world today. There are going to be some here. I’ve mostly seen positive, but I have seen comments like you are talking about. I say, we counteract the negative with positive. When you see a negative post, post right under them with something positive. Will it stop the negative posting? Probably not, but it will give the OP something positive in their feedback and we all need that. The world is a mess right now. People shouting at each other over politics, over racial divide, etc… We can’t change the world, but we can be a positive influence in our own little corner. Sending you hugs and a thank you for blessing this mom-to-be with your things. I hope at the end of the day, you remember someone thought you did something nice. Hugs!♥”
So I’m asking my friends and readers to help me spread peace, love, and positivity to the social media world. Instead of posting something that can be seen as divisive, stop a minute and think about what that post is going to contribute to someone’s life. When you come across someone else’s posts, stop a minute and leave them with a positive comment. If you see an inspirational post, share that with us. I think we need to focus on the things we have in common with others and not our differences. So, in closing, please tell me one thing that gave you hope today. Or something beautiful, you saw in your world today. Or how you were blessed in some way today. I took the time to have coffee with a friend today. Did I change the world? Nope. But I hope my friend felt blessed afterwards by someone taking the time to sit and listen to her and say I care. And the visit was a blessing to me as well.
Phone a friend just to say hi. This used to be a part of our daily world and now it’s not and I think that’s a shame. There are so many little things we can do in our world to make a difference in the lives around us. Maybe think for a minute or two, or ponder for a day, what things you could do to spread happiness and sunshine this week.
It doesn’t have to be a grand gesture, make it something you can do easily and you’re more likely to follow through. Buy a bunch of cheap flowers and stand at the entrance or exit to a store and hand them out.
Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I hope you have a great day.


Leave a comment